Wednesday , 25 November 2020

Winners of the 2018 Fajr International Film Festival announced

PayvandNews – The 36th edition of Fajr International Film Festival, the longest running film event in the Middle East, named its winners during a ceremony on Thursday night at Vahdat Hall, Tehran. ‘Aga’ by Milko Lazarov won Best Film, while Cambodian documentary film director Rithy Panh won the Peace Award.

The curtain fell on this year’s edition, on Thursday, 26 April. Vahdat Hall hosted the awards ceremony, attended by Iranian and international filmmakers and guests. ‘Aga’ by Milko Lazarov, a co-production from Bulgaria, Germany, France, won this year’s grand prix.

‘Aga‘ by Milko Lazarov

The Peace Award went to Rithy Panh. After the announcement, Oliver Stone was asked to come on the stage to present the award.

“My friend worked for a long period of time and in difficult conditions to make his motion picture. I’m honoured to present Rithy Panh with the Peace Award,” Stone said while presenting the award to the Cambodian documentary film director.

The complete list of winners:

International Competition (Cinema Salvation)

Best Film: Milko Lazarov, Aga (Bulgaria, Germany, France)

Best Director: Alexey German Jr., Dovlatov (Russia, Poland, Serbia)

Best Script: Ramtin Lavafi, Hattrick (Iran)

Best Actor: Leon Lucev, The Miner (Slovenia, Croatia)

Best Actress: Mahoor Alvand, Hattrick (Iran)

Best Actress Mahoor Alvand

Special Jury Prize: Richard Kendrick, Cinematographer, Song of Granite (Ireland, Canada)

Best Short Film: Faith, Tatiana Fedorovskaya (Russia)

Special Mention: Mr. Deer, Mojtaba Mousavi (Iran)

The Cinema Salvation – International Competition Jury: Joanna Kos-Krauze (Poland), Milcho Manchevski (Macedonia), Dimitri Athanitis (Greece), Adoor Gopalakrishnan (India), Giovanni Spagnoletti (Italy), Mahmoud Kalari (Iran), Merila Zarei (Iran).

Asian Film Awards

Best Asian Film: Father and Son, Dung Ding Loung (Vietnam)

Best Asian Director: Maryam Bahrololumi, Patio (Iran)

Best Short Film: Pedavore, Mohammad Kart (Iran)

Eastern Vista – Panorama of Films from Asian and Islamic Countries Jury: Salome Demuria (Georgia), Suhan Pansha (Malaysia), Ahmet Boyagioglu (Turkey), Ammar Jamal (Iraq), Farhad Aslani (Iran)

Interfaith Award

Grain, Semih Kaplanoglu (Turkey, Germany, France, Sweden, Qatar)

Interfaith Competition Jury: Valerie De Marnhac (France), Thomas Kroll (Germany), Mohammad-Reza Zaeri (Iran)


Hendi & Hormoz, Abbas Amini (Iran)

NETPAC Jury: Raman Chawla (India), Asif Rustamov (Azerbaijan), Habib Ahmadzadeh (Iran)

Best First Film Award

Dressage, Pooya Badkoobeh (Iran)

The cast and crew of Dressage

First Film Jury: Viera Langerova (Slovakia), Barmak Akram (Afghanistan), Mohammad Ali Bashe Ahangar (Iran)

Muhammad Al Ameen Award

Majid Majidi, Beyond the Clouds (India)

Peace Prize

Peace Prize for Lifetime Achievement: Rithy Panh (Cambodia)

Oliver Stone presented the Peace Award to  Cambodian director Rithy Panh

Honorary Diploma: The Miner, Hanna Slack (Slovenia, Croatia)

Oliver Stone presented Honorary Diploma to Hanna Slack for The Miner

With director Reza Mirkarimi at helm of 2018, Fajr Filmfest heralded stronger comebacks from Asia, Europe and Middle East. Whatever one says of Middle East cinema and its power rankings, the region’s best and most powerful showcase for cinema is, has been, and for all foreseeable time will be this festival, which runs in Charsou Cineplex and other venues in in the Iranian capital until April 27.

… Payvand News – 04/29/18 … —